Product detail

Queenie

Queenie

Author: Candice Carty-Williams
Series: reader ; identity ;
$29.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 9
Description

Inspirational, funny and wise' - Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON. Queenie Jenkins can't cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long term boyfriend, Tom. That's definitely just a break though. Definitely not a break up. Stuck between a boss who doesn't seem to see her, a family who don't seem to listen (if it's not Jesus or water rates, they're not interested), and trying to fit in two worlds that don't really understand her, it's no wonder she's struggling. She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life? A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on modern life, QUEENIE will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity, and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way. Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Bryony Gordon and Dawn O'Porter, and anyone who loved FLEABAG and DEAR WHITE PEOPLE.

Author description

Candice Carty-Williams is a marketer, author and journalist based in London. Born in 1989, the result of an affair between a Jamaican cab driver and a Jamaican-Indian dyslexic receptionist, Candice worked in the media before moving into publishing aged 23. In 2016, Candice created and launched the Guardian and 4th Estate BAME Short Story Prize, is a Penguin Books Write Now mentor, and she also contributes regularly to Refinery29, BEAT Magazine, the Guardian and i-D. QUEENIE is her first novel. She can be found on Twitter at @CandiceC_W.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781409180067
  • : Orion Publishing Group
  • : Gollancz
  • : April 2019
  • : 23.40 cmmm X 15.30 cmmm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Candice Carty-Williams
  • : Paperback
  • : en
  • : 384