Emperor of the Eight Islands (Tale of Shikanoko #1-2 Prequel to Otori)

Author(s): Lian Hearn

Historical Fiction

In the opening pages of the action-packed Book One of Lian Hearn's epic Tale of Shikanoko a future lord is dispossessed of his birthright by a scheming uncle, a mountain sorcerer imbues a mask with the spirit of a great stag for a lost young man, a stubborn father forces his son to give up his wife to his older brother, and a powerful priest meddles in the succession to the Lotus Throne, the child who is the rightful heir to the emperor barely escaping the capital in the arms of his sister. And that is just the beginning. As destiny weaves its rich tapestry, a compelling drama plays out against a background of wild forests, elegant castles, hidden temples, and savage battlefields. This is the medieval Japan of Lian Hearn's imagination, where animal spirits clash with warriors and children navigate a landscape as serene as it is deadly.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

One of the most thrilling series of our time. - The Times on TALES OF THE OTORI The best story of magic, love, sex, revenge and suspense since Philip Pullman. - Independent On Sunday on TALES OF THE OTORI A classic in the making. - Sydney Morning Herald on GRASS FOR HIS PILLOW An engrossing fantasy saga of literary quality. - The Age on TALES OF THE OTORI An enthralling and original work of fantasy. - The Times on TALES OF THE OTORI Lian Hearn's marvellous storytelling talent makes reading these books a moment of pure bliss. - Le Monde on TALES OF THE OTORI A tour de force of pure storytelling. - Sydney Morning Herald on THE HARSH CRY OF THE HERON Rich with character and detail, yet effortless to read. - Sydney Morning Herald on HEAVEN'S NET IS WIDE

Lian Hearn's beloved Tales of the Otori series, set in an imagined feudal Japan, has sold more than four million copies worldwide and has been translated into nearly forty languages. It is comprised of five volumes: ACROSS THE NIGHTINGALE FLOOR, GRASS FOR HIS PILLOW, BRILLIANCE OF THE MOON, THE HARSH CRY OF THE HERON and HEAVEN'S NET IS WIDE. The series was followed by two standalone novels, BLOSSOMS AND SHADOWS and THE STORYTELLER AND HIS THREE DAUGHTERS, also set in Japan. EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS is Books 1 and 2 in The Tale of Shikanoko and is followed by LORD OF THE DARKWOOD (Books 3 and 4). Lian has made many trips to Japan and has studied Japanese. She read Modern Languages at Oxford and worked as an editor and film critic in England before emigrating to Australia. For the latest news from Lian, visit lianhearn.com, follow Lian on Twitter @LianHearn, or join the readers who have become Lian's friend on Facebook.

General Fields

  • : 9780733635137
  • : Hachette Australia
  • : Hachette Australia
  • : January 2016
  • : 233mm X 154mm X 33mm
  • : March 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lian Hearn
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : en
  • : 448