Product detail

The Best of Sherlock Holmes

The Best of Sherlock Holmes

Author: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Series: Macmillan Collector's Library
$14.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Faithfully supported by his chronicler, Dr Watson, Sherlock Holmes pits his wits against 'Napoleon of Crime' Professor Moriarty, assists European royalty threatened by disgrace, helps to solve the mysterious death of a young woman due to be married, and investigates intrigues that have defeated the detectives of Scotland Yard. Packed with excitement and mystery, this collection showcases the legendary sleuth at his very best. This Macmillan Collector's Library edition features an afterword by David Stuart Davies, and accompanying each tale are Sidney Paget's fantastic original illustrations from The Strand magazine. Designed to appeal to the booklover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautiful gift editions of much loved classic titles. Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure.
Promotion info
A collection of the best of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's stories featuring his famous detective
Author description
Arthur Conan Doyle was born in 1859. He trained to be a doctor at Edinburgh University and eventually set up a medical practice in Southsea. During the quiet periods between patients, he turned his hand to writing, producing historical novels such as Micah Clarke and adventure yarns including The Lost World, as well as four novels and fifty-six stories involving his most celebrated creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson. Doyle was knighted in 1902. In later life he devoted much of his time to his belief in Spiritualism, using his writing and celebrity as a means of providing funds to support activities in this field. He died in 1930.
Table of contents
Chapter - 1: A Scandal in BohemiaChapter - 2: The Red-Headed LeagueChapter - 3: The Boscombe Valley MysteryChapter - 4: The Man With the Twisted LipChapter - 5: The Blue CarbuncleChapter - 6: The Speckled BandChapter - 7: Silver BlazeChapter - 8: The Musgrave RitualChapter - 9: The Dancing MenChapter - 10: The Solitary CyclistChapter - 11: Charles August MilvertonChapter - 12: The Six NapoleansChapter - 13: The Abbey GrangeChapter - 14: The Second StainChapter - 15: The Devil's FootSection - i: AfterwordSection - ii: BiographySection - iii: Bibliography
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781909621992
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Macmillan Collector's Library
  • : August 2016
  • : 150mm X 93mm
  • : July 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • : Hardback
  • : New Edition
  • : 544